The Foreigner.

I still don’t remember how I ended up here, or who I was before. They all call me Louise, even though none of us know my real name. Apparently, ‘Louise’ was everything I was capable of mouthing when they found me in the forest. I couldn’t tell if this is true, I have no memories of that night either. There is nothing I can associate with that name, there is nothing I can think of. But it is fine, I think I like it. Louise.

My arrival to the community caused a big flutter. Such an event is highly unusual in the small but beautiful Kingdom of Ridaura. I brought a big controversy, as they didn’t know what to do with me. From princes to peasants, from maidens to knights, everyone was aware of my arrival. Some, the most superstitious, considered my appearance as bad omen sign, and wanted to get rid of me. Others would say that I could be escaping from other kingdom’s justice, and therefore that I should be imprisoned. However, I should have been found in such a state that moved the sheriff, who alleged me to be absolutely inoffensive and decided that I shall be taken to the sanatorium.

It took me a few weeks to recover, to realize and assume what was going on. Most of the people considered me to be irretrievable, giving me up for a loss. Apparently, one of the most popular jesters made a great show out of my strange situation. I guess people were quite hopeless since I was not able to talk. Maybe I just didn’t want to. But I was awake. Absorbing every single piece of information, observing and paying attention to those things which determined my new community. I was playing the fool, but there was someone I couldn’t trick.

Since the very first moment I liked her. She came to visit me everyday and her company always felt right. For some reason which I could never figure out, she would never give up on me. She knew I was fighting to survive. Caroline did everything that was on her hand to adopt me. Her and her husband Rodig treated me as their own child since the first day I walked into their house, and even gave me their name. Of course, not everyone would agree with a foreigner becoming part of the court, but the position of my new parents was favourable enough to make it happen. Rodig belonged directly to the aristocracy, and Caroline was one of the most important members of the Council of Sages, the matchmaker. Thanks to them, I escaped my destiny as a ragged foreigner to become Louise. Lady Louise vel Fiennesy to be precise.

Leave a Reply

