The Starting Point.

One day, during my recovery, Caroline would come to me and ask: – When?- I stared at her quite surprised. She knew I wouldn’t speak but gently continued. -I was wondering when will you start speaking. I know you can and I have thousands of questions for you. I understand how you feel, but there is nothing to be scared. You’re safe.-

After a long pause she started to talk again. – I need your help- she said. I couldn’t think of any aspect I could be of use to her but I nodded, inviting her to continue: -Most of people might underestimate you, but not me. I know what you are capable of.- At this part of the conversation I was totally lost.- I would like you to work with me. If you want- Wow. That took me by surprise. I considerably doubted that I could be of any help to her as the matchmaker. I didn’t know anything about love at any level. Perhaps, she read the contrariety in my expression as she continued: – You are not the only great observer here. I wouldn’t ask if I thought you weren’t good enough.-

She started to walk away and I followed her. I would say that she was hiding a smile. Then she began talking again: -I know how you sneak into the forest without being noticed when the community sleeps. I have seen how fast you learn just for observing. No one would perceive it but I can see how you read in other people and act accordingly to get what you want. I know how intuitive you are. I knew it since the very first moment I saw you, you have a great potential.- I didn’t know how to react, but luckily she continued talking -I don’t blame you, it is in your nature. You have done no wrong.-

Despite her words, I felt guilty and a strange feeling hit me, but her pitching wasn’t over: -Matchmaking is not witchcraft, not a science, not exact. Like love, it is not defined, there are no rules, no boundaries. It is more than love notes and gifts. It is based on a deep understanding of people, and their needs. And chemistry, but there is not much we can do about it. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. But you have to keep going trying to find out. Ridaura is full of knights and princesses, peasants and damsels, all of them waiting to meet someone. Their best half. We all deserve a love story.-

She explained me the importance of her mission, and how the time has make it more and more difficult to achieve. -Times are changing and I am getting older. People does not feel the same way and it is harder for me to read their impressions. That is why I need you. To help me bringing back the fun, mystery and romance.-

She continued with the explanation but with each word I felt even more confused. What was she asking me to do? To take part in strange intrigues? To spy people?Suddenly, as she could read my mind she laughed: – Among other stuff you might have to carry out some nasty tasks, but it will be on other people’s benefit, trust me.- And I did.

After all, I owed that to her. I owed everything to her. This time, it was me who took her by surprise when my my voice firmly asserted: -I’ll do it.

Leave a Reply

